Election Results 2021 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services

900 candidates in the Delhi election fray this time,Delhi election fray, Election Commission cleared 900 candidates for delhi poll 2013.

900 candidates in the Delhi election fray this time.


NEW DELHI: Of the 1,110 candidates who filed nominations, Election Commission cleared 900, rejecting the rest on various grounds like incomplete information or legal formalities.

These 900 include the 70 contenders from Congress, BJP-Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) and AAP, for the assembly polls. Wednesday is the last day for withdrawal of nominations and then the final list of candidates will be prepared.

"The rejections were due to faults in their applications," said Delhi chief electoral officer Vijay Dev. Apart from Congress, BJP-SAD (Badal) and AAP, the 900 contenders who were cleared include 70 BSP candidates, 10 from CPI, nine from NCP and three from CPM.

There are 296 independent candidates and 300 from other political parties. Candidates from Samajwadi Party have filed nomination in 30 constituencies while NCP had filed nominations on 13 seats.

"In 2008 assembly elections, 1,134 candidates had filed their nominations, out of which 194 were rejected. Sixty-five candidates had withdrawn their nominations and 875 candidates had contested elections," said Dev. The total number of contesting candidates in 2003 assembly elections was 817.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has notified a list of star campaigners for political parties like Congress, BJP and BSP. The three parties had submitted names of 40 leaders each and all the names have been cleared.

The list makes it clear that the parties have decided to make the Delhi polls a national event. For BJP, party president Rajnath Singh, veteran leader LK Advani and the party's PM candidate Narendra Modi figure at the top of the list. In Congress, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, party president Sonia Gandhi and vice-president Rahul Gandhi are the key star campaigners. BSP president Mayawati is their star campaigner.


Find Your Assembly

Delhi Assembly Election Result

CEO & Voter List