You are here: Home Indian Politics Cabinet & State Ministers of India

List of Chief Minister of Assam, Chief Ministers of Assam till date, All CM of Assam till date, Names of all Chief Ministers duration Assam

list of chief ministers of Assam: Present CM of all states

No Name Term of office Party Days in office
1 Gopinath Bordoloi 11-Feb-46 06-Aug-50 Indian National Congress 1,638
2 Bishnu Ram Medhi 09-Aug-50 27-Dec-57 2,698
3 Bimala Prasad Chaliha 28-Dec-57 06-Nov-70 4,696
4 Mahendra Mohan Choudhry 11-Nov-70 30-Jan-72 446
5 Sarat Chandra Sinha 31-Jan-72 12-Mar-78 2,232
6 Golap Borbora 12-Mar-78 04-Sep-79 Janata Party 542
7 Jogendra Nath Hazarika 09-Sep-79 11-Dec-79 94
Vacant 12-Dec-79 05-Dec-80 N/A 359
(President's rule)
8 Anwara Taimur 06-Dec-80 30-Jun-81 Indian National Congress 207
Vacant 30-Jun-81 13-Jan-82 N/A 197
(President's rule)
9 Kesab Chandra Gogoi 13-Jan-82 19-Mar-82 Indian National Congress 66
Vacant 19-Mar-82 27-Feb-83 N/A 345
(President's rule)
10 Hiteswar Saikia 27-Feb-83 23-Dec-85 Indian National Congress 1,031
11 Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 24-Dec-85 28-Nov-90 Asom Gana Parishad 1,799
Vacant 28-Nov-90 30-Jun-91 N/A 214
(President's rule)
-10 Hiteswar Saikia  30-Jun-91 22-Apr-96 Indian National Congress [Total 2,788] 1,757
12 Bhumidhar Barman 22-Apr-96 14-May-96 23
-11 Prafulla Kumar Mahanta [2] 15-May-96 17-May-01 Asom Gana Parishad [Total 3,628] 1,829
13 Tarun Gogoi 17-May-01 24-May-16 Indian National Congress 5,485
14 Sarbananda Sonowal 24-May-16 Incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party 29

last-updated 23 June 2016


Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha Elections 2019?

CEO & Voter List