Election Results 2022 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services

Factual Information of Delhi Assembly Election 2020

 Factual Information of Delhi Assembly Election 2020 


  • Term of current Delhi Assembly expires in February
  • Purvanchalis and Punjabis most dominant voters in Delhi
  • Muslims may impact election in 10 of 70 constituencies of Delhi

Combine logo


Announcement for Delhi Assembly election may come any day. Term of the incumbent assembly expires in February 2020. Pending announcement of Delhi Assembly, all three contenders for power - the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress - have hit the ground to woo the voters.

Leadtech Services Banner 300 x 250

Delhi has a total of 1.43 crore voters, according to the Election Commission's record for the Lok Sabha 2019 election. Men outnumber women as Delhi voters by over 14 lakh in count.

Of all the voting blocs, the Purvanchalis, Punjabis and the Muslims are most significant voters for their size. It is estimated that Purvanchali voters - Delhi residents having roots in eastern Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Jharkhand - comprise about 25-30 per cent of the voters.

The Purvanchali voters were earlier considered as Congress supporters, when late Sheila Dikshit was in power and the Congress gave prominent place in Delhi to leaders such as Mahabal Mishra. The BJP was then considered as the party of upper caste Delhi residents and baniya community.

But when the AAP of Arvind Kejriwal, the incumbent Delhi chief minister, appeared on the scene in 2013 on the back of a powerful anti-graft movement under activist Anna Hazare, Purvanchali voters shifted their loyalty towards the fledgling party which formed the next two governments in the national capital. The first government of Arvind Kejriwal had lasted only 49 days.

With their current electoral strength, the Purvanchalis can decide election to the Delhi Assembly in about 25 constituencies. This means the Purvanchalis, if they vote en bloc, may decide about two-thirds of the seats required for majority mark in 70-member Delhi Assembly.

READ MORE:  Best election survey agency in India

 source India today

Find Your Assembly

Delhi Assembly Election Result

CEO & Voter List