Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Indian Politics prominent-leaders

Karnataka Cheif MinisterJagadish Shettar, About Jagadish Shettar ,Political history & Background Detail Of Jagadish Shettar, Who is Jagadish Shettar.

Karnataka Cheif MinisterJagadish Shettar, About Jagadish Shettar ,Political  history & Background  Detail Of Jagadish Shettar, Who is Jagadish Shettar.
Bharatiya bjpJanata bjp Party
Jagadish Shettar in 2006

About Jagadish Shettar

Jagadish Shivappa Shettar (born 17 December 1955) is the 21st and current Chief Minister of Karnataka, a state in southern India. He is a senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Earlier, he was the Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly during 2008-2009.

21st Chief Minister of Karnataka
Assumed office 12-Jul-12
Preceded by D. V. Sadananda Gowda
Constituency Hubli rural
Personal details

Jagadish Shettar was born on 17 December 1955 in Kerur village of Badami Taluk in Bagalkote district, Karnataka.

His parents were Sri. S.S.Shettar and Smt. Basavanemma. His father S S Shettar, a senior activist of the Jana Sangh, was elected five times to the Hubli-Dharwad Municipal Corporation and became the first Jana Sangh Mayor of Hubli-Dharwad.

His uncle Sadashiv Shettar was the first Jana Sangh leader in South India to get elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly

from Hubli City in 1967.

Shettar holds BCom and LLB degrees and was a practicing lawyer for 20 years at the Hubli Bar. He married Smt. Shilpa and the couple have 2 sons - Prashant and Sankalp.

Born Kerur village, Badami Taluk, Bagalkote district, Karnataka
Political party Bharatiya Janata Party
Spouse(s) Shilpa
Children 2 sons
Religion Hinduism
Website http://jagadishshettar.com

Shettar began his public life with the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad and participated actively in all its activities before becoming an active member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh.

In 1990, he became the President of Hubli Rural Unit of the BJP and in 1994, the Dharwad District Unit President of the party. He was elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly for the first time in 1994 and has been reelected as Member of the Legislative Assembly from Hubli rural constituency for four successive terms. In 1996, he became the BJP State Secretary and in 1999, he was chosen as the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly following the defeat of the BJP in the state elections. Shettar was the Leader of Opposition when S.M. Krishna was the Chief minister and effectively discharged his duties.

In 2005, he was appointed as the State President of the Bharatiya Janata Party. Later, he went on to become the Revenue Minister in the Janata Dal (Secular)-BJP coalition government headed by HD Kumaraswamy in 2006.

In 2008, following the BJP victory in Karnataka assembly elections, Shettar was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Karnataka legislative assembly. However, he resigned from this post in 2009 and was inducted in to the cabinet of B.S. Yeddyurappa as Minister for Rural development and Panchayat Raj.

In 2011, following the resignation of B.S. Yeddyurappa, Shettar emerged as a major contender to the post of Chief Minister. However, he was defeated by D.V. Sadananda Gowda in the election to select the Leader of the BJP Legislature party. He continued to be a minister in the State government.

As one of the most influential leaders of North Karnataka region, he has been associated with many reforms including the Khalasa Banduri project, construction of Suvarna Vidhana soudha in Belgaum, establishment of South western railways headquarters in Hubli Dharwad etc.

In July 2012, several BJP MLAs owing allegiance to B.S. Yeddyurappa called for the replacement of D.V. Sadananda Gowda with Shettar. After much turmoil, the BJP High Command agreed to make him the Chief minister.He was sworn in on 12 July 2012.


Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List