Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Indian Politics prominent-leaders

Formar Karnataka Cheif Minister B S Yeddyurappa, About B S Yeddyurappa ,Political history & Background Detail Of B S Yeddyurappa, Who is B S Yeddyurappa.

Formar Karnataka Cheif Minister B S Yeddyurappa,  About B S Yeddyurappa ,Political  history & Background  Detail Of  B S Yeddyurappa, Who is B S Yeddyurappa.
About B S Yeddyurappa
Educational Qualification B.A.
Father’s Name Late. Sri. Siddalingappa
Mother’s Name Late. Smt Puttathayamma
Brothers Two
Sisters Two
Wife’s Name Late Smt. Maithra Devi
Children Sons: TwoDaughters: Three
Date of Birth 27.02.1943
Place of Birth Bookanakere,
K.R. Pet Taluk,
Mandya District,
Karnataka State,
Assembly Constituency Shikaripura,
Shimoga District, Karnataka State,
Social Activities

During 1972, at the age of 29 years Sri Yeddyurappa was elected as President, Shikaripura Taluk Jana Sangha and entered public life.

Ailed for 45 days at Shimoga and Bellary during 1975 Emergency period.

Became Secretary of the Janatha Party during 1977

Espoused the cause of Bonded Labourers – led a team of 1700 Bonded labourers to the Shimoga Deputy Commissioner’s office demanding release and rehabilitation of the Bonded Labourers.

Fought for upholding the rights of Bagar Hukum Farmers (Landless people who unauthorisedly cultivate Govt.lands) and prevented the Forest Department from planting Eucalyptus saplings in the lands which was in the possession of the unauthorised cultivators.

During August 1987, he traveled all over Shikaripura Taluk on Bicycle to survey the drought situation and visited all the villages to have the first hand experience of the ill effects of the drought and as a result, Government took drought relief work on war footing basis.

Political Positions Held Elected as Coucillor of Shikaripur Muncipal Council (Shimoga District, Karnataka State, India) on 16th August 1975.Elected as president, Shikaripura Taluk Unit of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) during 1980.

Entered Karnataka Legislative Assembly winning in the 1983 elections. This election proved to be a turning point in his public life and shaped his political career.

Served as Shimoga District BJP President from 1985 to 1988.

Elected to Karnataka Legislative Assembly for the 2nd time in 1985 Elections.

Worked as Karnataka State BJP President during 1988.

Elected to Karnataka Legislative Assembly for the 3rd time in 1989 elections.

Worked as Secretary, All India BJP during 1992.

Elected to Karnataka Legislative Assembly for the 4th time during 1994 elections and functional as the Opposition Leader in Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Became the State BJP President for the 2nd time during 1998-99.

Elected to Karnataka Legislative Council in 2000 and remained as Member of Legislative Council (MLC) till 2004.

Elected to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly for the 5th time in 2004 elections and functioned as the Opposition Leader from June 2004 to February 2006.

Appointed as the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka on 3rd February 2006 in the JD(S) and BJP Coalition Government led by Shri H.D. Kumarswamy.

As Deputy Chief Minister and Finance Minister, Successfully presented two budgets with a thrust on Development and People welfare.

New Initiatives: Loan waiver, Abolition of Arrack and Lotteries, Farm Credit at 4% interest rate, Bhagyalakshmi Scheme to empower girl children from BPL families, Distribution of Free Bicycles to 8th Standard students from BPL families, Suvarna Kayaka Employment Training Scheme to tackle unemployment problem, Sandhya Suraksha Social Security Pension Scheme for Senior Citizens etc.

Took oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka on 12-11-2007 to head the first ever BJP led Coalition Government in South India.

Took oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka on 30-05-2008 to head the first ever BJP Government in South India.


Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List