Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Indian Politics prominent-leaders

Rajya Sabha chairman, Name of Rajya sabha chairman, Chairman Of Rajya sabh , Present chairman Of Rajya Sabha.

Rajya Sabha chairman, Name of Rajya sabha chairman, Chairman Of Rajya sabh , Present chairman Of Rajya Sabha.




Father's Name:

Shri Mohammad Abdul Aziz Ansari


Mother's Name:

Smt. Aasiya Begum


Date of Birth:

1 April 1937


Place of Birth:



Marital Status:



Spouse's Name:

Shrimati SalmaAnsari



Two sons and one daughter


Educational Qualifications :



B.A. (Hons.); M.A. (Political Science)



Vice-President's House,
6, Maulana Azad Road,
New Delhi - 110 011
Telephone - 011-23016422, 23016344


Positions Held :

  • Joined the Indian Foreign Service (IFS) in 1961 and served in Indian missions in Baghdad, Rabat, Jeddah and Brussels;
  • Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates (1976-1979);
  • Chief of Protocol to Govt. of India (1980-1985);
  • High Commissioner to Australia (1985-1989);
  • Ambassador to Afghanistan (1989-1990);
  • Ambassador to Iran (1990-1992);
  • Permanent Representative to the UN, New York (1993-1995);
  • Ambassador to Saudi Arabia (1995-1999);
  • Visiting Professor, Centre for West Asian and African Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (Dec 1999-May 2000);
  • Vice-Chancellor, AligarhMuslim University, Aligarh (2000-2002);
  • Distinguished Fellow at the Observer Research Foundation, New Delhi (2002-2006);
  • Visiting Professor, Academy for Third World Studies, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi (2003-2005);
  • Co - Chairman, India-U.K. Round Table (2004-2006);
  • Member, National Security Advisory Board (2004-2006);
  • Chairman, Advisory Committee for Oil Diplomacy, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (2004-2005);
  • Chairman, Working Group on 'Confidence building measures across segments of society in the State', established by the second Round Table Conference of the Prime Minister on Jammu and Kashmir, held at Srinagar, 24-25 May, 2006; the report of the Working Group was adopted by the 3rd Round Table held at New Delhi, 24 April 2007;
  • Chairman, Fifth Statutory National Commission for Minorities (March 2006-July 2007);
  • Vice-President of India and ex officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha from 11 August 2007 to 10 August 2012 and again from 11 August 2012 till date.


To know more click here......>>>>>>>>

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List