Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Indian Politics prominent-leaders

Kiran Bedi , About Kiran Bedi ,Political history & Background Detail Of Kiran Bedi , Who is Kiran Bedi.

 Kiran Bedi , About Kiran Bedi ,Political  history & Background  Detail Of Kiran Bedi , Who is Kiran Bedi.




  • Kiran Bedi (born 9 June 1949) is an Indian social activist and a retired Indian Police Service (IPS) officer. Bedi joined the police service in 1972 and became the first woman officer in the IPS.
  • Bedi held the post of Director General at the Bureau of Police Research and Development before she voluntarily retired from the IPS in December 2007.
  • Bedi was the host and judge of the popular TV series "Aap Ki Kachehri" (English, "Your Court"), which is based on real-life disputes and provides a platform for settling disputes between consenting parties.
  • She has also founded two NGOs in India: the Navjyoti Delhi Police Foundation for welfare and preventative policing in 1988 which was later renamed as the Navjyoti India Foundation in 2007, and the India Vision Foundation for prison reformation, drug abuse prevention and child welfare in 1994.
  •  Bedi was awarded Ramon Magsaysay award in 1994 for Government service.



Personal Info and Education

  • Kiran Bedi was born in Amritsar, Punjab, India. She is the second of four daughters of Prakash Peshawaria and Prem Peshawaria. Her three sisters are; Shashi, an artist settled in Canada, Reeta, a clinical psychologist and writer, and Anu, a lawyer.
  • (Hons.) from the Government College for Women, Amritsar in 1968. She then earned a Master’s degree in Political Science from Punjab University, Chandigarh, graduating at the top of her class in 1970.
  • She later obtained Bachelor of Laws in 1988 from Faculty of Law, University of Delhi. In 1993, she obtained a Ph.D. in Social Sciences from the Department of Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi where the topic of her thesis was 'Drug Abuse and Domestic Violence'.



Honours and awards


Year Name of Award or Honour Awarding organisation
2011 Bharatiya Manavata Vikas Puraskar Indian Institute of Planning and Management
MSN Most Admired Indian Female Icon 2011  
Avicenna Leadership Award in 2011  
2010 Tarun Kranti Puraskar – 2010 in Women Empowerment Category Tarun Award Council
Kalpana Chawla Excellence Awards 2010  
The 9th Annual Academy Award  
Global Trail Blazer Award  
STAR Parivaar Awards STAR Plus
2009 Arch Bishop Benedict Mar Gregorius Award- 2009  
Women Excellences Awards Aaaj Tak
Certificate of Recognition, Los Angeles, State of California  
Indo- American  
2008 Pride Of Punjab  
The Indian society of Criminology  
Lifetime Achievement Awards Bank of Baroda
2007 Suryadatta National Award Suryadatta Group of Institutes
Baba Farid Award  
Amity Woman Achiever for Social Justice  
Public Service Excellence Award  
Zee Astitva Award Zee TV
2005 Mother Teresa Award for Social Justice  
Transformative Leadership in the Indian Police Service  
FICCI Award  
2004 United Nations Medal United Nations
2002 Woman of the Year Award Blue Drop Group Management, Cultural and Artistic Association, Italy.
2001 Morrison Tom Gitchoff Award  
1999 Bharat Gaurav Award  
Pride of India Award American Federation of Muslims of Indian Origin (AFMI)
Serge Sotiroff Award (UNDCP)  
1998 ACCU-IEF Award  
1997 Fourth Joseph Beuys Award Germany
1995 Lion of the Year  
Father Machismo Humanitarian Award Don Bosco Shrine Office, Bombay-India
Mahila Shiromani Award  
1994 Magsaysay Award Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation
1992 International Woman Award  
1991 Asia Region Award for Drug Prevention and Control International Organisation of Good Templars (IOGT), Norway
1981 Women of the Year Award National Solidarity Weekly, India
1979 President’s Gallantry Award President of India

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List