AAP win a defeat for arrogance, 'Bhaag Modi Bhaag', says Trinamool, Delhi Election historic win, AAP sweep Delhi, Delhi assembly election result live updates, Delhi election News Updates

AAP win a defeat for arrogance, 'Bhaag Modi Bhaag', says Trinamool

delhi election result live 2015Kolkata, (IANS) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and the Trinamool Congress Tuesday targeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi, saying "arrogance and political vendetta have been defeated" in the Delhi polls, and paraphrased a slogan the BJP uses in Bengal that Delhiites were now saying "Bhaag Modi Bhaag".

While Banerjee claimed the BJP balloon has burst, Trinamool MP Derek O'Brien called the Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) historic win as people's magic.

"This is a victory for the people and a big defeat for the arrogant and those who are unleashing political vendetta and spreading hate among people. People have the final word in a democracy. The BJP's balloon has burst," Banerjee said at an event in Rampurhat in Birbhum district.

"Never disrespect people in a democracy. Arrogance and political vendetta have been defeated today. There is a proverb that unchecked rise of anything leads to its downfall," she said.

Earlier in the day, she took to Twitter to congratulate AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal as she described the Delhi polls as a "turning point" in the country's politics.

"Congratulations to all the Delhi voters, AAP workers and leaders for the big victory. We are very happy," tweeted Banerjee, who had earlier urged the people of Delhi to vote for the AAP.

Putting the responsibility of the embarrassing defeat on Modi, O'Brien said the BJP was "politically evicted".

"To paraphrase a tasteless slogan BJP uses in #Bengal, let me say: The people of Delhi said today, 'Bhaag Modi Bhaag'," tweeted O'Brien.

"These are the BJP ads which appeared before Delhi elections. Now you decide who should carry the can for this defeat," asked O'Brien, uploading the newspaper advertisement carrying Modi's pictures.


Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Delhi Assembly Election Result

Bihar Polls


West Bengal Polls


AITC - 23.3%
INC+ - 6.1%
BJP+ - 70.6%

Total votes: 163
The voting for this poll has ended on: 07 Feb 2020 - 14:37

CEO & Voter List