Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Gulbarga Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Gulbarga Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Gulbarga, Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Karnataka Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Gulbarga MP, Issues Political Analysis

About the Constituency:

Spread over the district of Gulbarga is the Parliamentary constituency by the same name. The Gulbarga Lok Sabha seat is one of the 28 representing the state of Karnataka in the Indian Parliament. The Gulbarga Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5) consists of 1,543,771 number of electorates in totality, of these 778,102 are males and 765,669 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Created before the second Lok Sabha elections of 1957, Gulbarga is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. 

Assembly Segments:

Out of the eight Assembly segments which comprise this constituency, only Gulbarga Rural and Chitapur are reserved for candidates from the marginalised sections of society.




Chitapur (SC)


Gulbarga Rural (SC)

Gulbarga Dakshin

Gulbarga Uttar

About Gulbarga:

The city of Gulbarga is the administrative headquarters of this district. The historic legacy of the Gulbarga district, which was in the hands of various kingdoms from the ancient period, dates back to the 6th century, when the control of this region was in the hands of the Rashtrakuta king. In the 14th century, this region of Gulbarga was made the capital of the Bahamani Sultans, after a revolt took place against the Delhi Sultanate. Economically backward as this district is, it is being funded under the Government of India’s special schemes such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Present Political Scenario:

Only a matter what would be the victory margin for Congress

BJP has re-nominated ex animal husbandry minister, Revu Naik Belamagi for this SC reserved constituency. Not only had he lost this seat in the 2009 LS elections when Karnataka (unlike India) was in a strong BJP wave, but also he had lost the assembly elections in May last year.

 Congress has the towering Dalit leader and union Railway minister, Mallikarjun Kharge, re-contesting the seat and the only question now is what would be Congress’s victory margin – by all counts it  could be closer to a lakh.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Mallikarjun Kharge



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification


Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List