Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Lakshadweep Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Lakshadweep Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News,Lakshadweep Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates,LAKSHADWEEP Parliamentary Constituency details 2019, Lakshadweep MP Issues

About the Constituency:

Lakshadweep- comprises of group of 36 island and was formed on November 1, 1956. The Union Territory of Lakshadeep is represented in the Indian Parliament through a single constituency. It is called the Lakshadeep constituency. Lakshadeep was formerly called the Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands Lok Sabha constituency.

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Lakshadweep Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 45,983 of which 22,481 are females and 23,502 are males.

About Lakshwadeep:

The Union Territory of Lakshadeep has a total population of around 64,429, as per the 2011 Census records. The main industry is fibre extraction and manufacturing, and this provides the bulk of the economic stability in this region, besides the tourism sector, which substantially adds to the revenue generated in this Union Territory. Coir manufacturing industries are renowned in Lakshadeep.

Political Significance:

A Congress stronghold to date, Lakshadeep has had P.M. Sayeed as its most popular political leader, who is a Congress MP and has retained this seat from 1967 to 1999.

 A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Hamdullah Sayeed



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification


Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List