Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home National|

AAP To Contest All 13 Lok Sabha Seats In Punjab, Despite Defections

AAP To Contest All 13 Lok Sabha Seats In Punjab, Despite Defections


Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) party leader Arvind Kejriwal announced on Sunday that despite a virtual split in the leadership of its Punjab unit, they will contest all 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal arrived in Punjab on Sunday to launch the party's election campaign for the Lok Sabha polls with a rally in Barnala town. 

Kejriwal told the media in Sangrur, about 130 km from Chandigarh, "People want a change, they are fed up with the Modi government, BJP will be defeated in the Lok Sabha elections."

Mr Kejriwal met senior leaders of AAP Punjab unit, including MP Bhagwant Mann, Leader of the Opposition Harpal Chima and MLA Aman Arora.

The AAP has already announced the names of five candidates for Lok Sabha seat in October. These seats are Sangrur, Faridkot, Hoshiarpur, Amritsar and Anandpur Sahib.

The AAP had won four Lok Sabha seats in Punjab in the 2014 general elections. AAP candidates in 2014 had put up a good fight in other constituencies as well. The party could not win a single Lok Sabha seat anywhere else in the country in that election.

There are 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab. The Congress is in power in the state since March 2017.

AAP, which had shown a lot of promise in Punjab as a third option against traditional political rivals Congress and Shiromani Akali Dal-Bhartiya Janta Party (SAD-BJP) alliance in Punjab, has been in the last two years and led by a virtual revolt.

Leadtech Services Banner 300 x 250

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List