Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Indian Politics prominent-leaders

BJP announces Rajya Sabha candidates for MP, Digvijaya among Congress nominees for Rajya Sabha elections,Rajasthan, Bihar,Jharkhand, Odisha ,Assam,Rajya Sabha polls, Rajya sabha candidates, Rajya sabha nomination by congress, BJP, Vijay goel

BJP announces Rajya Sabha candidates for MP,Rajasthan, Bihar,Jharkhand, Odisha ,Assam,Rajya Sabha polls, Rajya sabha candidates, Rajya sabha nomination by congress, BJP, Vijay goel

BJPannouncesR14516New Delhi: The BJP on Friday night announced the names of its candidates for Rajya Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Bihar.

Delhi state BJP chief Vijay Goel, Ram Narayan Dudi and Narayan Panchariya will be the party candidates from Rajasthan. Vijay Goel may have to quit the state party chief post as part of "one person, one post" policy.

Satyanarayan Jatiya and Prabhat Jha are the party candidates from Madhya Pradesh, while C P Thakur and R K Sinha will be the party candidates from Bihar.

Discussions are on for selecting party candidates for Gujarat, Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh.

As far as Jharkhand, Odisha and Assam are concerned, the party president will decide which candidates to support.

Digvijaya among Congress nominees for Rajya Sabha elections

DigvijayMeanwhile Congress on Monday picked up AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh as its nominee from Madhya Pradesh for the Rajya Sabha elections to be held on February 7, party insiders said.

Digvijaya was scheduled to reach here from New Delhi late Monday night to file his nomination papers on Tuesday, the last date for filing the papers for Rajya Sabha.

Hours after BJP vice president Prabhat Jha and former Union minister Satyanarayan Jatia filed their nominations on Monday for the Rajya Sabha seats, Congress high command chose Digvijaya as its nominee for the Upper House.

In the morning, the Congress Legislative Party (CLP) meeting took place and in a one line resolution left the decision to pick up its candidate for Rajya Sabha to the party's high command. In MP, three Rajya Sabha seats have fallen vacant - two will go BJP and one to Congress.

Digvijaya, who was the state chief minister, had taken a vow not to contest elections for 10 years before the December, 2003 MP Assembly polls if his party lost the elections. In that Assembly polls, the Congress faced a humiliating defeat.

With ten years of his vow ending last month, there was a tongue wagging in the party that he might contest Lok Sabha elections either from Rajgarh or Indore. But with the party deciding to nominate the MP former chief minister to Rajya Sabha, the political observers feel that the high command wants to keep him off the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. Congress' high command has decided not to field its office bearers in the Lok Sabha polls, party insiders said.

Already, Digvijaya's feather had been clipped in MP Congress after the disastrous show of the party in the last year's Assembly polls. Recently his loyalists - former Union minister Kantilal Bhuria and Ajay Singh, have been replaced with former Union minister Arun Yadav as state party chief and Satyadev Katare as CLP leader- both members of Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia's camp.

Even after being sidelined by the party, Digvijaya was still asserting pressure on the MP Congress. Recently he pardoned state Congress secretary Jagdish Yadav who had dubbed him inauspicious for the party in MP. Yadav was suspended by the state Congress but the AICC general secretary pardoned him saying that he should not be removed from his post. Singh move was aimed at prevailing over state Congress which didn't took him into confidence before suspending Yadav.

Source: India Tv, India Today

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List