Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home UP|

Amar Singh & Beni Prasad Verma file nomination for biennial elections to Rajya Sabha , Samajwadi Party , Sanjay Seth, Akhilesh Yadav, Mulayam Singh Yadav,UP rajya sabha elections 2016

Amar Singh & Beni Prasad Verma file nomination for biennial elections to Rajya Sabha , Samajwadi Party ,Sanjay Seth, Akhilesh Yadav,Mulayam Singh Yadav,UP rajya sabha elections 2016

Seven Samajwadi Party candidates, including Amar Singh who returned to party after six-year suspension, former Union minister Beni Prasad Verma who quit theCongress and rejoined the SP earlier this month and Lucknow-based realtor Sanjay Seth, filed their nomination papers Wednesday for the biennial elections to Rajya Sabha next month.

The party, however, made a change in the list of candidates declared last week, dropping sitting RS member Arvind Singh to accommodate former BSP MP Surendra Nagar.

The other candidates who filed the nomination are sitting RS member Vishambhar Prasad Nishad, former Allahabad MP Rewati Raman Singh and former Legislative Council chairperson Sukhram Singh Yadav.

The candidates filed the nomination papers at Central Hall of Vidhan Sabha complex in presence of SP national general secretary Ram Gopal Yadav and party state in-charge Shivpal Singh Yadav. Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, who was in Bhadohi on an official visit, and SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav were conspicuous by their absence.

After filing the nomination, Amar Singh, who was accompanied by family members, expressed gratitude to Mulayam and said he will “use the opportunity to strengthen the party”. Verma reiterated that he will work to ensure that Akhilesh gets a repeat term as chief minister in 2017. Uttar Pradesh goes to Assembly polls early next year.

The support of 37 MLAs is needed for a candidate’s entry into the Rajya Sabha. As per the existing strength of different parties in the 403-member state Assembly, SP with 229 MLAs would be able to get six nominees elected to the Upper House and will need support of 30 MLAs from other parties to see its seventh candidate through. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) can send two candidates and the BJP one. Congress, with 29 MLAs, is also looking for support from other parties to send one candidate to RS.

Meanwhile, Eight SP candidates for the UP Legislative Council elections – Kamlesh Pathak, Ranvijay Singh, Shatrudra Prakash, Ram Sundar Das Nishad, Jagjivan Prasad, Balram Yadav, Yashwant Singh and Bukkal Nawab —- also filed their nomination papers Wednesday. Balram Yadav, Yashwant Singh and Bukkal Nawab are sitting MLCs.

The notifications for polls to 11 RS seats and 13 MLC seats was issued on May 24. the last date for filing nominations is May 31. While polling for MLC elections is scheduled for June 10, the elections for filling the RS vacancies will take place on June 11.

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List