Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Berhampur Odisha Parliamentary Constituency 2015-16, Berhampur Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Berhampur Lok Sabha Elections 2015-16 News Updates,Odisha Parliamentary Constituency details 2015-16

About the Constituency:

One of the 21 constituencies of the state of Odisha, Berhampur or BrahmapurLok Sabha was formed prior to 1971 and comprises of seven Vidhan Sabha assemblies of which one is reserved for the SC category. 1,207,552 is the total electorate count in the Berhampur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 20). Out of these 609,580 number of electorates are males and the remaining 597,972 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.

Assembly Segments:

Chhatrapur (SC)





Mohana (ST)


About Behrampur:

 Belonging to the Ganjam District, the city of Brahmapur was earlier known as Berhampur and it is one of the oldest cities in the state. It lies 160 kms away from Bhubaneswar, sprawling over an area of 80 sqkms and has an average elevation of about 30 metres. 

According to 2011 census, it has a total population of 3,55,000 with a 52% male majority. About 11% of the population is under six years of age and the sex ratio is 917 females per 1,000 males. The official languages are Oriya and English and it has an average literacy rate of 91%, with male literacy rate of 94% and female literacy rate of 86%. Some of the country’s first public schools are located here and the city is an important centre of education in the area. Several premier higher education institutions including nine engineering colleges, fourteen Industrial Training Centres and 11 Polytechnic Colleges are located here. Berhampur is well known for its silk sarees, handloom work, brass metal works and silver jewellery. Granite processing, rice mills, handloom units are the major economic activities here. National Highways, NH-5 and NH-59 connect the city to a large road network.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Sidhant Mohapatra



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Biju Janata Dal



Educational Qualification

Post Graduate

Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List