Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Bolangir Odisha Parliamentary Constituency 2015-16, Bolangir Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Bolangir Lok Sabha Elections 2015-16 News Updates,Odisha Parliamentary Constituency details 2015-16, Bolangir MP Issues

About the Constituency:

Bolangir or Balangir is one of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies of Odisha, consisting of seven Vidhan Sabha assemblies of which two are reserved for the SC category. It was formed before the elections of 1962. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Bolangir Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 10) were 1,443,484 of which 696,325 are females and 747,159 are males.

Assembly Segments:

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Birmaharajpur (SC)


Loisingha (SC)





About Bolangir:

The city of Balangir is the administrative centre for the District of Balangir and is the fourth biggest city in west Odisha. It sprawls over an area of about 50 sqkms at an average elevation of 380 metres and is about 330 kms away from the state capital of Bhubhaneswar. It is well known for its now dying Kosali art and dance form. 

As per the census report of 2001, the city has a total population of about 86,000 of which 11% is below the age of six. 52% of the total population comprises of males and the sex ratio is 987 females for every 1,000 males. Balangir has an average literacy rate of 74%, a male literacy rate of 76% and female literacy rate of 60%. Several schools, both public and private affiliated to the state board and the central board of education as well along with colleges offering degrees in arts, sciences, medical sciences, engineering, etc., are located here. The economy is mostly dependent on the textile and tourism industries. National Highways, NH-201 and NH-224 pass through this city.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Biju Janata Dal



Educational Qualification


Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List