Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Sundargarh Odisha Parliamentary Constituency 2015-16, Sundargarh Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Sundargarh Lok Sabha Elections 2015-16 News Updates,Odisha Parliamentary Constituency details 2015-16, Sundargarh MP Issues

About the Constituency:

One of the 21 constituencies of Odisha, Sundargarh Parliamentary Constituency is reserved for the ST category. The Sundargarh Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 2) has a total of 1,248,955 electorates out of which 604,272 are females and 644,683 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

Assembly Segments:

It was formed before the 1952 elections and has seven Vidhan Sabha segments of which one is reserved for the SC category and one for the General category.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Talsara (ST)

Sundargarh (ST)

Biramitrapur (ST)

Raghunathpali (SC)


Rajgangapur (ST)

Bonai (ST)

About Sundargarh:

Sundargarh town lies in the Sundargarh District along the Chhattisgarh border in the Deccan Plateau at an average height of 230 metres and covers an area of over 25 sq kms. It is the administrative headquarters of the district. 

As per the 2001 census report of India, the city had a population of about 40,943 of which 11% is under the age of six. Males constitute 51% of the population and it has a sex ratio of 973 females for every 1,000 males. A majority of the population is Hindu and the prevalent languages are Oriya, English, Marwari, Hindi and Bengali. Sundargarh has an average literacy rate of 75% with a male literacy of 80% and a female literacy rate of 69%. About 50% of the population comprises of tribal people of whom only 40% is literate. Several public and private schools along with many colleges are situated here. The town is mostly below the poverty line and agriculture is the main industry in the area. State Highways SH-10 and SH-24 connect Sundargarh to the nearby towns and cities. 

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Hemanand Biswal



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification

Inter/ Higher Secondary

 Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List