Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Constituency 2015-16, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Lok Sabha Elections 2015-16 News Updates, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Cons

About the Constituency:

The entire region of the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands is represented by the Andaman and Nicobar Islands parliamentary constituency. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Andaman & Nicobar Islands Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 265,108 of which 123,959 are females and 141,149 are males. It came into existence for the first time in 1977 when the sixth Lok Sabha was elected across the country.  The size and structure of Andaman and Nicobar Lok Sabha constituency is outlined in Section 4 of the Representation of the People Act, 1950. Members from this parliamentary constituency are elected directly by the voters of the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, according to the Universal Adult Franchise.

About Andaman and Nicobar Islands:

Thrives on a rich agricultural sector which grows paddy as its main crop, besides pulses, coconut, oil seeds and different varieties of fruits grown in the region. Small-scale and medium-scale industries, in hand with cottage industries producing fine quality of handicraft products, also contribute to a substantial growth in the economy of the islands. Situated in the juncture of the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands thrive on the tourism sector too. 


 As per the 2011 Census of India, the number of inhabitants in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands is around 3, 81,000 people.

Political Background:

The Indian National Congress has been in power in Andaman and Nicobar Islands for a majority of the Lok Sabha sessions, as out of the 10 terms of the Lok Sabha since 1977, this parliamentary constituency was represented by the Congress for eight terms.

 A look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Bishnu Pada Ray



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Bharatiya Janata Party



Educational Qualification


 Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List