Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Udupi Chikmagalur Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Udupi Chikmagalur, Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Karnataka Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Udupi Chikma

About the Constituency:

The Udupi Chikmagalur parliamentary constituency of Karnataka is one of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in this southern Indian state.  It is named the Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency as the assembly segments which comprise this constituency are spread over the two districts of Udupi and Chikmagalur. The Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 15) has a total of 1,224,335 electorates out of which 629,570 are females and 594,765 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

Assembly Segments:

Further, as per the Delimitation Commission of India, the number of Assembly constituencies of the Udupi- Chikmagalur Parliamentary constituency has been divided into eight assembly segments, out of which Mudigere is reserved for scheduled caste candidates. While Sringeri, Mudigere, Chikmagalur and Tarikere together come under the Chikmagalur district, the remaining assembly segments belong to the district of Udupi.

Names of Assembly Constituencies






Mudigere (SC)



About Udupi Chikmagalur:

While Udupi city is the administrative seat of power of the Udupi district, the city of Chikmagalur is the administrative centre of the Chikmagalur District.

Though the region of this Lok Sabha constituency has a rich agricultural base that provides the districts its economy, heavy chemical and software industries are also flourishing in this region. Coffee cultivation is another primary activity in this region, which is controlled by the Coffee Board.

Present Political Scenario:

Congress may have an edge in this seat

BSY imprint is seen cleary in this as his close aide and confidante, Shobha Karandlaje, has managed to get the ticket from here.

 Congress MP, J.P. Hegde is a clean man who has a clear edge in this seat.

With the Brahmin votes splitting vertically, minority and Kuruba votes going to Congress and Lingayat votes with BJP.

Vokkaliga and other backward caste votes could become crucial in this election.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

D.V. Sadananda Gowda



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to 29-Dec-11

Political Party

Bharatiya Janata Party



Educational Qualification


Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List