Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Maharashtra|

Congress to repeat all MLAs in 2019 Maharashtra Assembly elections

Congress to repeat all MLAs in 2019 Maharashtra Assembly elections

All sitting MLAs of Congress party will be repeated in the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly elections, sources said after the Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting, which was chaired by Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi at her residence, here on Saturday.

A senior party source present at the two-&-half-hour plus meeting, said, "All sitting Congress MLAs are going to be repeated in the Assembly polls."

In the meeting, party general secretary K.C. Venugopal, Ambika Soni, Veerappa Moily, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Ahmed Patel, Mallikarjun Kharge, who is incharge of the state, and several Maharashtra leaders.

According to the source, about 60 names were cleared by the screening committee earlier in the day.

Later speaking to the media, Kharge said that 90 per cent of the names sent to the CEC were accepted by the screening committee. He said that the screening committee would meet again on 17 September and CEC on 18 September in which several other names would be discussed.

Discussions were held on over 125 seats in Maharashtra, the source added.

On the seat-sharing formula, Kharge said, "Talks have been held and we will decide the seats. All things are going on properly."
In the 2014 elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came to power by winning 122 seats in the 288-member Assembly. It's ally Shiv Sena won 62 seats.

READ MORE:Best Election Survey Company in India

The Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) bagged 42 and 41 seats, respectively.

However, both the Congress and the NCP have faced departures. Actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar, who contested the North Mumbai seat, quit the party last week, followed by former Minister and senior leader Kripa Shankar Singh.

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List