Election Results 2021 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home LK News |

Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif to attend Modi's swearing-in ceremony

Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif to attend Modi's swearing-in ceremony

Nawaz-Sharif-portraitPakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has accepted the invitation of PM-elect Narendra Modi's to attend his swearing-in ceremony on May 26.   He will join other SAARC country leaders in the ceremony.

Pak government sources confirmed that the joint meet between Nawaz Sharif & Narendra Modi will take place on the sidelines of oath ceremony.

Other key SAARC leaders who have confirmed that they will attend the ceremony at the forecourt of the historic Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi include:- Modi's invitation list

  1. Sri Lankan President President Mahinda Rajapaksa,
  2. Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai,
  3. Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay,
  4. Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala
  5. Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom
  6. Bangladesh will be represented by Speaker Shirin Chaudhury as Premier Sheikh Hasina is travelling to Japan

The acceptance of invitation came after Pakistan's Foreign Office recommended the PMO to accept the invitation on Thursday. "The Foreign Office has made the recommendation and the decision will most likely be in favour," a senior diplomat at the FO told Pakistan daily Dawn on Thursday. Preparations in full swing for Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Relations between Pakistan and India have witnessed ups and down. Relations froze after an attack on Mumbai in 2008 in which Pakistani terrorists killed 166 people. A mild thaw since has helped trade, though not much progress has been made in normalizing bilateral ties.

During the election campaign, Mr. Modi took a tough stance on Pakistan’s role in sponsoring terror attacks in India. But since his victory, Mr. Modi has softened his stand somewhat. He has said that he would like to engage India’s neighbors and have friendly relations with them.


Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List