Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Political News Lok Sabha Election 2019 News

Indian Political News

Eye on Lok Sabha Polls, PM Modi to Hold Rally in Punjab's Gurdaspur

Eye on Lok Sabha Polls, PM Modi to Hold Rally in Punjab's Gurdaspur

New Delhi: For his first rally of 2019, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be in Punjab’s Gurdaspur town on Thursday as part of the BJP’s campaign to organize 100 rallies before the Lok Sabha elections. Rally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) in Punjab - will launch election campaign for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance.

The state is important as the SAD-BJP alliance was elected in the 2017 Assembly elections after Congress ruled for ten years. In fact, the alliance remained third, behind even AAP.

The Congress has four Lok Sabha members while the SAD also has four. The BJP has only one Lok Sabha member from Punjab.

A leading daily quoted Punjab BJP president Shwait Malik credited PM Modi for doing the most for Punjab as the PM. He cited the opening of Kartapur Corridor, bringing the perpetrators of anti-Sikh riots of 1984 to justice and exemption of GST from langar items to Modi government.

He mentioned how a large number of people were travelling from Bathinda and other distant places of Punjab to participate in the rally at PUDA ground. The daily also quoted sources as saying that state presidents of both SAD (Badal) and BJP discussed their election strategy, with PM Modi, to reduce the loss of other political parties including the AAP.

Out of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, SAD contested on 10 while BJP contest on three seats. “This time, every single Lok Sabha seat matters than last time, we will share our viewpoint for sure but eventual decisions will be taken by the respective party,” a source said.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made in border districts as well as on the international border with Pakistan.

After addressing the rally, PM Modi will go to Jalandhar to inaugurate the 106th session of the Indian Science Congress at the Lovely Professional University.

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List