Election Results 2021 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Telangana|

Seemandhra bandh badly affected normal life:Telangana approval

Telangana approval: Seemandhra bandh disrupts normal life


HYDERABAD: Normal life was badly affected in coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema regions as a bandh against the Union Cabinet's approval of a bill for division of Andhra Pradesh began this morning.

Leaders and activists of TDP, YSRCP and other United Andhra supporters organised protest across the two regions.

The buses of state-run Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation (APSRTC) remained off the roads and shops and other commercial establishments and educational institutions remained shut.

The Andhra Pradesh Non-Gazetted Officers (APNGOs), who held prolonged strike against division of Andhra Pradesh earlier, the YSR Congress and Seemandhra TDP leaders gave separate calls for bandh against division of Andhra Pradesh.

An alert has been sounded by police and additional security forces have already been rushed to the Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema areas ahead of the Union Cabinet's approval of division of AP, to maintain law and order.

A report from Vijayawada said TDP MLA Devineni Umamaheswara Rao and his followers were taken into custody by the police when they staged protest at Benz Circle in the city against the Centre's decision.

APSRTC sources in Vijayawada said all services, including the long distance ones, were suspended due to hurdles created by the agitators on highways. Only the night services were only allowed to reach their destination and later they were also suspended.

Vijayawada Chamber of Commerce and Industry president Velampalli Ramachandra Rao said though the chamber has not given any bandh call, yet the businessmen from the city have voluntarily closed their shops while expressing anguish over the Union Cabinet's decision.

The Union Cabinet last night approved a bill for the creation of a Telangana state with 10 districts, paving the way for division of Andhra Pradesh.


Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List