Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Kasaragod Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Kasaragod Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Kasaragod, Kerala Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Kerala Parliamentary Constituency details 2019, Kasaragod MP, Issues Political Analysis

About the Constituency:

The Kasaragod parliamentary constituency, one of the parliamentary segments in the south Indian state of Kerala, covers the entire district of Kasaragod. The town of Kasaragod is the municipality and the administrative seat of the Kasaragod district. The district has a population of 13,07,375 people, according to the 2011 Census of India. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Kasaragod Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 1,113,892 of which 577,259 are females and 536,633 are males. 

Assembly Segments:

Seven assembly segments make up this constituency of Kasaragod, out of which Kanhangad is a constituency reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Manjeshwar Kasaragod Udma
Kanhangad Trikaripur Alathur

About Kasaragod:

Being fed by multiple rivers, hills, backwaters and beaches, Kasaragod is one of the most serene and exotic districts in the state of Kerala.  The economy in this constituency sustains on agriculture, as cash crops in their superior qualities such as rubber and coconut are grown here and exported to various regions in the country. Besides, the industrial sector is also extremely crucial to add to the revenue of the Kasaragod constituency. The ship building industry along with electrical and mechanical components building industries are flourishing here. BHEL (Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited), is a well known industry and a major source of income in this district.

Political Background:

Interestingly, this constituency of Kasaragod is one of the strongholds of the CPI(M), although it was in the capture of the CPI in the initial years.

A Look: Sitting  MP

Name of MP P. Karunakaran
Age 68
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Post Graduate

Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated 97
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 557
Attendance 76%

Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List