Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Kozhikode Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Kozhikode Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Kozhikode, Kerala Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Kerala Parliamentary Constituency details 2019, Kozhikode MP, Issues Political Analysis

About the Constituency:

Situated in the district of Kozhikode is the parliamentary constituency of Kozhikode, which is one of the 20 Lok Sabha seats belonging to the state of Kerala. 1,053,817 is the total electorate count in the Kozhikode Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5). Out of these 510,361 number of electorates are males and the remaining 543,456 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. 

Assembly Segments:

Out of the seven Assembly seats which comprise the Lok Sabha seat of Kozhikode, Balusseri is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste category.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Balusseri (SC)


Kozhikode North

Kozhikode South




About  Kozhikode:

The district of Kozhikode has as its administrative headquarters, the coastal city of Kozhikode (or Calicut, as it was formerly known. This city holds immense historic value as the European travelers, most renowned of them being Vasco Da Gama, discovered this port city for its trading potential with the West. Calicut remained one of the primary trading centres of export for the Portuguese and later the British, who traded in items such as black pepper, myrobalans, and spices of various kinds.

With a population of 2,030,519 (2011 Census), the city of Kozhikode is the third-largest city in Kerala and remains an extremely important urban conglomeration. The economy of the Kozhikode district and the city, in particular, survives on easy accessibility to the trading hubs and centres in the region, with trade being the backbone of the economy. Fishing and sea-borne businesses also make up bulk of the economy. 

Political Background:

The constituency of Kozhikode has remained a Congress stronghold, although the CPIM and the Janata Dal have respectively won elections from this constituency. 

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

M. K. Raghavan



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification


Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List