Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Bijapur Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Bijapur Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Bijapur, Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Karnataka Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Bijapur MP, Issues Political Analysis 2019

About the Constituency:

The Bijapur Lok Sabha constituency in Karnataka is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. As one of the 28 Lok Sabha segments of this state, Bijapur is located in the historically prominent district of Bijapur. The Bijapur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 4) has a total of 1,373,604 electorates out of which 662,782 are females and 710,822 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. 

Assembly Segments:

Out of the eight Assembly segments which constitute this district, only the segment of Nagthan is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

Names of Assembly Constituencies


Devar Hippargi

Basavana Bagevadi


Bijapur City

Nagthan (SC)



About Bijapur:

Ruled by the Adil Shah dynasty, Bijapur was one of the five splinter states of the Bahamani Sultanate in 1518. Bijapur then passed into the hands of the Nizam of Hyderabad, who set up his own independent kingdom there, before being annexed by the mighty Marathas. 

In the Third Anglo-Maratha War between the British and the Marathas, the kingdom of Bijapur was finally made a part of the British dominion. Bijapur thus inherits a prominent historical legacy spanning across centuries. The city of Bijapur is the administrative headquarters of the eponymous district. With a population of 2,175,102, as per the 2011 Census records, this district primarily has an agricultural economy. Farming is the main occupation, and crops such as grapes, guava, lime and pomegranate are grown, besides commercial crops such as sugarcane and cotton.

Present Political Scenario:

BJP has re-nominated sitting MP, Ramesh Jigjinagi, who still has strong pockets of influence in this constituency. While Congress has given ticket to MLC Prakash Rathod who not only faces the “outsider” tag but also faces rebellion from within the party. Mr. Jigjinagi has won this seat twice in the past (BJP itself has been winning this seat since 1999), while Mr. Rathod has lost this seat thrice in the past.

Congress  may find itsadvantage in terms of 7 out 8 assembly segments having Congress legislators.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Bharatiya Janata Party



Educational Qualification

Post Graduate

Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List