You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Dharwad Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Dharwad Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Dharwad, Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Karnataka Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Dharwad MP, Issues Political Analysis 2019

About the Constituency:

Dharwad is one of the 28 parliamentary segments which belong to the southern Indian state of Karnataka. The Dharwad Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 11) consists of 1,411,500 number of electorates in totality, of these 723,069 are males and 688,431 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

Assembly Segments:

Eight legislative assembly segments constitute it, out of which Hubli-Dharwad-East is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates.

 These eight Vidhan Sabha segments were earlier part of the Dharwad North and Dharwad South Lok Sabha constituencies, respectively, both of which ceased to exist following the Delimitation Commission’s orders of 2008. 




Hubli-Dharwad-East (SC)





About Dharwad:

In around the 12th century A.D., this region of Dharwad is said to have been ruled by the Chalukyas, and was later captured by the Bahamani rulers, before finally being annexed into the kingdom of Vijayanagara in the 14th century. This district has a fairly sparse population, numbering 1,846,993 (2011 Census). Agriculture is the backbone of the economy, with major crops being rice, wheat, jowar, onion, maize and cotton. The APMC Market in Hubli is the primary trading centre for the agricultural produce.

Present Political Scenario:

Pre- dominantly a BJP domain

Another BJP bastion, where state unit president, Prahlad Joshi will re-contesting on the party ticket and has a decent chance of repeating his victory. Although there was some talk of a localized anti-incumbency against the sitting MP in the last few months.

Birthplace of the LIBRA (Lingayat-Brahmin) social coalition in Karnataka, a mainstay of the BJP.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Bharatiya Janata Party



Educational Qualification


Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha Elections 2019?

BJP (NDA) - 63.4%
INC (UPA) - 28%
Third Front - 8.6%

Total votes: 917
The voting for this poll has ended on: 19 Apr 2019 - 00:00

CEO & Voter List