You are here: Home Political News Delhi political News

Indian Political News

latest on MCD polls, latest on total candidates in MCD elections 2012, news on delhi municipality elections, MCD polls, MCD elections 2012, news on jagranpost

MCD Latest Political News Update



MCD Government formation, Mayor Election East Delhi, New Delhi, South Delhi, North Delhi, Annaporna Mishra Elected mayor, Meera mayor New Delhi Municipal Corporation

Meera elected Mayor of New Delhi Municipal Corporation, Annapoorna Mishra elected East Delhi Municipal Corp Mayor .

Click here to read more.

Major Wins and Defeats in MCD Elections 2012, Delhi Elections 

Major Winners

Rajni Abbi (BJP): Outgoing mayor Rajni Abbi is back with a bang. She managed to retain her Mukherjee Nagar seat .

Subhash Arya (BJP): BJP heavyweight and three-time councillor won from Rajouri Garden ward.

Amrita Dhawan (Cong): This former DUSU president gave INC reason to cheer after defeating BJP citadel of Vikas Puri in 15 yrs

Farhad Suri (Cong): Former mayor and Congress candidate from Nizamuddin

Yogender Chandolia (BJP): The result at Dev Nagar didn't surprise many. BJP was certain.

Shobha Vijender Gupta (BJP): Clad in a beige sari, smiled after defeating Congress rival Monika Puri.

Meera Aggarwal (BJP): She fleeted in and out giving one interview or the other.

Kishan Pehlwan (INLD): Kishan Pehelwan has three criminal cases pending against him still defeated BJP and INC.

Anju Meharwal (Cong):  Anju rode the popularity wave mainly because of her celebrity brother Virender Sehwag.

Nutan Kochar (Cong): Kochchar, wife of Jitender Kochchar, had a close fight with Nandini Sharma of BJP at the Hauz Rani ward.

Major Defeats

J K Sharma (Congress) Leader of opposition, MCD

Kanwar Sain (BJP): Ex-mayor and BJP heavyweight Kanwar Sain lost to Congress's Ratan Singh by 221 votes.

Sanjay Puri (Cong) Janakpuri (west): He lost by 18 votes

Rakesh Rajora (Cong), Greater Kailash-I:Lost the seat.

Ajit Singh Chaudhary (Cong), Dilshad Colony: 3-times councillor he lost to BJP's Ram Narayan Dubey by 18 votes

Anita Babbar (Cong), Tilak Nagar: former mayor and sitting councillor from Tilak Nagar Dr Babbar


MCD 2012 Election Result, MCD Ward Wise Election Results

click here -->


Over 2500 candidates left in fray for MCD polls


New Delhi: Over 2,500 candidates were left in the fray for the Delhi Municipal polls on April 15 as the withdrawal of nominations ended on Saturday.

According to State Election Commission, 49 people withdrew nominations till 7:15 pm on Saturday taking the total number of withdrawals to 76.

This has left 2,535 candidates in the fray.

"Details from some more returning officers are expected. So this number could come down," an Election Commission official said.

In the past two days, 27 candidates had withdrawn from the race.

Of a total of 3,542 nominations filed, the State Election Commission jad found 904 papers were not in order and rejected it.

Almost half of 114 BSP candidates cannot contest the upcoming municipal polls as their nominations rejected by State Election Commission due to lack of proper documentation.

According to statistics released by the SEC, nominations of 51 BSP candidates were rejected leaving it with just 63 candidates in the April 15 polls for 272-member strong municipal bodies.

337 nominations, all of them covering candidates, of BJP were rejected by the SEC while another papers of 280 candidates of Congress were rejected.

For Congress, it will not have own candidates in four wards and the party is now supporting independents.

Out of the 992 independents, the nominations of 168 were rejected.

21 candidates of NCP also will not be able to fight the elections. Now the party has 41 candidates.

Samajwadi Party will have 72 candidates in fray after its 11 nominations were rejected.

The highest number of candidates are in women reserved seat of Okhla where 28 people are fighting followed by 25 each in Mukundpur, Pratap Vihar, Zakir Nagar and Jaitpur (W).

The highest number of rejection of nominations were from Inderpuri ward where 12 papers were rejected out of 18. In 40 wards, not a single nomination was rejected.

Among the wards which has the highest candidates with zero rejection rate was Jaitpur (Women), which has 25 people fighting the April 15 election. In Khajoori Khas, none of the 19 nominations were rejected.



latest on MCD polls, latest on total candidates in MCD elections 2012, news on delhi municipality elections, MCD polls, MCD elections 2012, news on jagranpost


Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Bihar Polls


West Bengal Polls


AITC - 23.3%
INC+ - 6.1%
BJP+ - 70.6%

Total votes: 163
The voting for this poll has ended on: 07 Feb 2020 - 14:37

CEO & Voter List