Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Bihar|

Bihar Election: CPI (ML) to contest ten council seats, Bihar assembly election,Bihar council elections, Election 2015

Bihar Election: CPI (ML) to contest ten council seats

Patna: The CPI (ML), which had earlier been opposing existence of legislative councils, has now decided to field its candidates from 10 local bodies' constituencies of the Bihar legislative council. The election to 24 council seats is likely to take place in July.

The party on Sunday said it would contest the council elections in alliance with CPI and CPM. "It is for the first time that CPI (ML) is going to participate in the council polls. It will be our endeavour to contest the election for creating a strong Left opposition against the Centre and the state government," party's state secretary Kunal said.
He said the 10 local authorities' constituencies selected for fielding the party candidates are: Bhojpur-Buxar, Rohtas-Kaimur, Patna, Gaya-Jehanabad-Arwal, Nalanda, Aurangabad, Siwan, Muzaffarpur, Darbhanga and Vaishali. The name of candidates would be finalized after the meeting of party's state standing committee scheduled on May 15, he said.
Earlier on May 3, all three major Left parties in Bihar - CPI, CPM and CPI (ML) - at a joint meeting held here, resolved to contest together the council polls to strengthen their political ties in the state.
Sources said the CPI has decided to field its candidate from four seats and CPM from two seats.

CPI has expressed its desire to field its candidate from Bhagalpur-Banka, Begusarai-Khagaria, Purvi Champaran and Madhubani seats, whereas CPM also wants to contest from Madhubani besides Saharsa-Madhepura-Supaul seat.

"But there is no tussle between us over the Madhubani seat. We will resolve the issue during our next combined meeting," CPI state secretary Satya Narayan Singh said on Sunday. He said, neither CPI nor CPM has any conflict on the 10 seats selected by the CPL (ML).

"Till date, we have held three rounds of talks to decide which party would contest how many seats and from where. The fourth round of meeting is scheduled for May 15 to give final shape to seat-sharing," Singh said.

Of the total 75 seats in the council, 24 members (around one-third) are elected from the local authorities' constituencies for which the Election Commission of India is likely to issue an election notification anytime in the current month.


Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List