You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Kottayam Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Kottayam Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Kottayam, Kerala Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Kerala Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Kottayam MP, Issues Political Analysis 2019

About the Constituency:

The Kottayam Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 20 parliamentary constituencies which belong to the southern Indian state of Kerala. The total number of electorates in the Kottayam Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 14) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,095,242 of which 544,665 are males and 550,577 are females.

 Assembly Segments:

 Out of the seven assembly segments which are part of the Kottayam Parliamentary constituency, Vaikom is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

Names of Assembly Constituencies




Vaikom (SC)




About Kottayam:

Economy-wise, Kottayam survives on the cultivation of rubber trees and is one of the primary trading centres of natural rubber in Kerala, owing to the highland areas and the suitable climate of the place. Besides, medium and small-scale industries such as latex processing and publishing are scattered in the district, such as St. Mary's Rubbers Private Limited in Koovappally, an MRF unit in Vadavathoor, and others.

Political Background:

This constituency covers the whole of the Kottayam district, which is situated in the south-central regions of the state of Kerala. This constituency has remained a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) for the last few elections, although traditionally this seat was a vote-bank pride of the Congress since its formative years.

Important political leaders from this constituency are K. Suresh Kuruop of the CPIM and Ramesh Chennithala of the Congress, both of whom have been elected as MPs from the Kottayam constituency in more than one Lok Sabha elections.

 A  Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Jose K. Mani



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Kerala Congress (M)



Educational Qualification

Post Graduate

 Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha Elections 2019?

BJP (NDA) - 63.4%
INC (UPA) - 28%
Third Front - 8.6%

Total votes: 917
The voting for this poll has ended on: 19 Apr 2019 - 00:00

CEO & Voter List