Election Results 2023 Lok Sabha Assembly Candidate India

    Leadtech Services
You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Karimganj Assam Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Karimganj Lok sabha Contituency Details, Political News, Karimganj Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Assam Parliamentary Constituency details 2019, Karimganj MP Issues

About Karimganj:

Reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste community, the Karimganj Parliamentary constituency is one of the most politically vibrant and historic Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam. The total number of electorates in the Karimganj Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,068,811 of which 562,597 are males and 506,214 are females. It is spread across the entire district of Karimganj, which is an administrative district of Assam. 

Assembly Segments:

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Ratabari (SC)


Karimganj North

Karimganj South





About Karimganj:

The historically rich city of Karimganj is also the administrative headquarters of the district, besides being the municipal board and main town of the eponymous district. Karimganj played a pivotal role during the anti-British struggle for independence in the country, especially during the Partition phase, when Karimganj was reorganized to become part of the new country of East Pakistan. The Karimganj district, as we know it today, became a district in Assam only in the year 1983. This parliamentary constituency is situated on the south-western regions of the state, and is an entry point to the state of Tripura. With a population of over 12 lakh people, the Karimganj Parliamentary constituency is one of the most influential centres of trade and commerce in the state, owing to its expansive river ports, which act as a bridge between India and Bangladesh. Eight Assembly constituencies, which are further divided into 96 Gram Panchayats, make up the Karimganj Parliamentary constituency. The total number of voters in the constituency, according to the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, is 6,85,420.

 A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Indian National Congress



Educational Qualification

Post Graduate

 Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

CEO & Voter List