You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Palakkad Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Palakkad Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Palakkad, Kerala Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Kerala Parliamentary Constituency details 2019, Palakkad MP, Issues Political Analysis 2019

About the Constituency:

Palakkad is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the southern Indian state of Kerala. The Palakkad Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 8) consists of 1,074,818 number of electorates in totality, of these 520,104 are males and 554,714 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

 Assembly Segments:

Out of the seven assembly segments which comprise Palakkad, Kongad is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

Names of Assembly Constituencies




Kongad (SC)




About Palakkad:

 It is situated within the geographic limits of the Palakkad district, of which the coastal town of Palakkad (or Palghat) is the administrative headquarters. With a population of 2,810,892 (2011 data), Palakkad is known for being a district with extremely high literacy rate. Some of the best educational institutions are found here. Nonetheless, the Ministry of Panchayati Raj attributed the status of ‘economic backwardness’ to the district of Palakkad; it is thus being funded by special economic packages such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Political Background:

The Palakkad constituency is politically prominent as it has remained a vote-bank of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) since the years of its growth, although the Congress won some of the general elections. N. N. Krishnadas is the most popular political leader in this constituency, representing the CPIM as an MP four terms in a row. 

 A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

M. B. Rajesh



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Communist Party of India (Marxist)



Educational Qualification

Post Graduate

 Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha Elections 2019?

BJP (NDA) - 63.4%
INC (UPA) - 28%
Third Front - 8.6%

Total votes: 917
The voting for this poll has ended on: 19 Apr 2019 - 00:00

CEO & Voter List