You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Ponnani Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Ponnani Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Ponnani, Kerala Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Kerala Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Ponnani MP, Issues Political Analysis 2019

About the Constituency:

The parliamentary constituency of Ponnani, is a pivotal vote bank of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) which has continuously represented this seat from as early as the Lok Sabha elections of 1977. is It covers a portion of the Malappuram district, which is one of the three districts of the Central Travancore region in the southern coastal state of Kerala. The Ponnani Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 7) has a total of 997,075 electorates out of which 522,848 are females and 474,227 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

Assembly Segments:

Seven assembly segments make up the parliamentary constituency of Ponnani. Out of these, the coastal town city of Ponnani, which is one of the significant seven Vidhan Sabha segments in his constituency, is a coastal municipality in the Malappuram district.  

Names of Assembly Constituencies








About Ponnani:

Situated in the Malabar Coast, Ponnani city is one of the oldest ports in the state, contributing substantially to the economy of this constituency through fishing and other trading activities. Agriculture remains the primary aspect of the economic backbone of this constituency, as rice, arecanut and coconut are grown in superior qualities in this region. 

The constituency holds a population of 83,704 people, according to the Census of India 2011. This constituency is renowned for its excellent rates of literacy in the state, being an important centre for education in religious philosophies, especially Islam. It is also known as the town of mosques.  

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

E. T. Mohammed Basheer



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Muslim League Kerala State Committee



Educational Qualification

Inter/ Higher Secondary

Performance in the 15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha Elections 2019?

BJP (NDA) - 63.4%
INC (UPA) - 28%
Third Front - 8.6%

Total votes: 917
The voting for this poll has ended on: 19 Apr 2019 - 00:00

CEO & Voter List