You are here: Home Parliamentary Constituency

Dakshina Kannada Parliamentary Constituency 2019, Dakshina Kannada Lok sabha Constituency Details, Political News Dakshina Kannada, Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News Updates, Karnataka Parliamentary Constituency details 2019,Dakshina Kannad

About the Constituency:

Formed in the year 2008 as per the Delimitation Commission’s orders, the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 28 parliamentary segments which belong to the southern Indian state of Karnataka. The total number of electorates in the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 17) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,364,641 of which 673,121 are males and 691,520 are females.

Assembly Segments:

Eight assembly segments comprise the parliamentary constituency of Dakshina Kannada, out of which Sullia is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. Before the delimitation of the parliamentary and assembly constituencies in 2008, the assembly segments were scattered across the Udupi and Chikmagalur constituencies, while some were under the erstwhile Mangalore Lok Sabha constituency.



Mangalore City North

Mangalore City South




Sullia (SC)

About Dakshina Kannada:

Belonging to the coastal region of South Kanara in Karnataka, this district has a total population of 2,083,625, as per the Census records of 2011. Mainly comprising the Tuluvas, who were the first peoples to settle in this constituency, the district also has other communities like Kulala, Mogaveera, Billava, Bunts, Devadiga, Muslims, Vokkaligas, Holeyas and others. Known as the ‘Cradle of Indian Banking’, this district of Karnataka is one of the most industrialised regions. Besides public and private sector banks, other industries like IT are flourishing in this district. Agriculture, which was once a major economic support, has now been relegated to the background, although fishing continues to be one of the primary occupations in the district, owing to its proximity to the seas.

A Look: Sitting MP

Name of MP

Nalin Kumar Kateel



Nature of Membership



18-May-09 to In office

Political Party

Bharatiya Janata Party



Educational Qualification


Performance in the  15th Lok Sabha:

Debates participated


Private member bills passed


Questions asked




Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha Elections 2019?

BJP (NDA) - 63.4%
INC (UPA) - 28%
Third Front - 8.6%

Total votes: 917
The voting for this poll has ended on: 19 Apr 2019 - 00:00

CEO & Voter List