You are here: Home Jharkhand|

Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das may contest from two seats in the upcoming assembly elections.

Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das may contest from two seats in the upcoming assembly elections.

Speculation is rife in political circles that Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das may contest from two seats in the upcoming assembly elections. It is believed that CM Raghubar Das may contest from Ranchi or Dhanbad or from his home constituency Jamshedpur East.

Leadtech Services Banner 300 x 250

It is said that CM Raghubar Das does not want to take any chances and also wants to fight from a safe constituency. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is on a vigil and is carefully campaigning after the Maharashtra and  Haryana assembly election results.

Eight out of 10 ministers in Haryana could not retain their seats. Perhaps, the party's performance in both states has created a fear psychosis amidst several political deadlocks in the ruling-BJP.

In 2014, Babulal Marandi lost from both the seats he contested. AJSU chief Sudesh Mahato tasted defeat in his home ground. Union Minister Arjun Munda also suffered a humiliating defeat. The then CM Hemant Soren had to lick the dust in Dumka but managed to come to the assembly as he contested from Berhat.

Till the assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra, there was more movement in the BJP camp. In both states, the party had set a target for itself.

Similarly, the party announced a 65-plus mission in Jharkhand. Leaders have always boasted to achieve the goal easily, but now their body language has changed. If rumours are to be believed then CM Raghubar Das is also looking for a safe seat.

Ranchi is known as the fort of BJP. The party's candidate has never lost this seat since 1990. From 1990 to 95, Gulshan Lal Ajmani occupied a seat in Ranchi from 1995-96 former Union minister Yashwant Sinha was Ranchi's MLA. CP Singh carried on party's winning streak from 1996 to 2019.

Perhaps, the record of wins in Ranchi seat for the BJP can exude a sense of security in any candidate. If the CM tries his luck from Ranchi too, the current incumbent CP Singh will be denied the ticket, but then he could be considered for Rajya Sabha elections scheduled in April 2020.

Meanwhile, Dhanbad responded well to CM Das's Jan Aadesh Rally a few days ago. The massive support might have raised hope for even this seat.

READ MORE:  Best election survey agency in India

He also said, "Just five months ago, the party candidate in general elections had lead from CM Raghuwar Das's constituency by more than a lakh vote. Why will he need to change his constituency?

Click here to get complete details assembly Constituencies of Jharkhand going to poll in Phase-I to Phase V


Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

CEO & Voter List