You are here: Home Indian Politics About Indian Politics

Bengaluru BBMP Mayor Deputy Mayor Election 2017 Dates Results Live Voting

Bengaluru BBMP Mayor Deputy Mayor Election 2017 Dates Results Live Voting

Bengaluru BBMP Mayor Deputy Mayor Election 2017 Dates Results Live Voting, BBMP Bengaluru Upcoming Mayor elections dates result 2017, Bengaluru BBMP upcoming local election Karnataka 2017, Bengaluru Karnataka local election BBMP mayor dates 2017 upcoming, Bengaluru Banglore, Karnataka

Congress candidate Sampath Raj was elected the 51st Mayor of Bengaluru on Thursday as the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike Mayoral elections came to an end. The election saw high drama with the Bharatiya Janata Party boycotting the process.

Keeping the coalition arrangement intact, JD(S)'s candidate Padmavathi Narasimhamurthy was elected as the deputy Mayor. The mayor post was reserved for a candidate from the Scheduled Caste community this time around and Sampath Raj, Congress corporator from Devara Jeevanahalli was elected.

BBMP Mayoral poll to be held on September 28

Leadtech Services Banner 300 x 250

  • Voting to select a new mayor for the city of Bengaluru will be held today. Corporators are allowed to vote, along with legislators and lawmakers from the area covered by civic agency BBMP limits. The term of the mayor is one year and the outgoing mayor is the Congress's G Padmavathi.

  • For the Congress-JD(S) combine, the candidate for mayor is the Congress's Sampath Raj, corporator from DG Halli, while Padmavathi representing Rajagopalnagar for the JD(S) is candidate for deputy mayor. 

  • The BJP is fielding S Muniswamy from Kadugodi for the mayor's post and Mamata Vasudev from J P Park for the post of deputy mayor. 

  • The post reserved for Scheduled Caste.
  • Bengaluru is all set to get a new mayor and deputy mayor on September 28 as the Regional Commissioner has issued a calendar of events for the mayoral poll.
  • The Regional Commissioner has written to the BBMP Commissioner and to the council secretary to make all necessary preparations. The term of the incumbent Mayor G. Padmavathi and the Deputy Mayor Anand ends on September 28.
  • The notification issued by the Secretary Urban Development puts an end to the speculation of extending the term of Mayor and the deputy Mayor and trifurcation of Bengaluru, paving the way for electing their mayors and deputy mayors. The notification has reserved the post of mayor for a candidate from Schedule Caste, while Deputy  Mayor post is reserved for general women.
  • The BBMP council section will fix a separate date for holding polls for various standing committees as the term of the committees will end in October. 
BBMP Last Election Result 2015
Party Seats
BJP 101
INC 76
JDS 14

Also, Find Karnataka Municipal Corporation Council Election Result 2017 2018 Schedule Candidates Opinion Exit Poll Ward Voter list

Also, Find Karnataka Gram Panchayat Zilla Parishad Election Result 2017 2018 Dates Candidates Opinion Exit Poll Ward Voter list


Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

Lok Sabha 2019 Polls

Which Party Will Form Government in Lok Sabha elections 2019?

Rajasthan Polls


BJP - 57.9%
INC - 38.4%
Others - 3.7%

Total votes: 1535
The voting for this poll has ended on: 31 Oct 2018 - 00:00

CEO & Voter List