You are here: Home Indian Politics About Indian Politics

Indian Vice Presidential 2017 Opinion Poll Elections Predictions Survey Results

Indian Vice Presidential 2017 Opinion Poll Elections Predictions Survey Results


Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 Date, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 Results, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 Candidates, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 Votes Live, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 Opinion Poll, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 Exit poll, Indian Vice Presidential Elections 2017 BJP Congress, Who will be next Indian President, Vice Presidential Candidate schedule 2017, Vice Presidential elections in India, 2017 elections in India


Vice Presidential election 2017 Live Voting

  1. Congress President Sonia Gandhi votes in the vice presidential election.
  2. Voting begins. Lawmakers arrive in Parliament to cast their votes.
  3. The Electoral College consists of following members: a) 233 elected and 12 nominated members of the Rajya Sabha. (Total: 245). b) 543 elected and 2 nominated members of the Lok Sabha (Total: 545). The grand total comes to 790. 
  4. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Venkaiah Naidu and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath were among the first to cast their vote. PM Modi was seen standing in queue even before the voting hall was opened at 10 am, news agency PTI reported.

Accepting the nomination of being the Opposition’s vice presidential candidate, Gopalkrishna Gandhi on Sunday said: “I accept the nomination with all the seriousness that it calls for. I applaud the unity and conviction with which Opposition parties have asked me to be their candidate for vice president.”

The new Vice President of India will be elected on August 5 and results will be declared the same day, informed the Election Commission.

The term of Vice President Hamid Ansari expired on August 10.

His successor will be chosen by all national law-makers, who add upto 790 parliamentarians.

On July 17, national and state legislators will vote for the new President of India. The government's candidate is Ram Nath Kovind of the BJP. The opposition has nominated former Speaker Meira Kumar.  The results will be declared on July 20, three days after voting, but the BJP, with its allies and the support of regional parties, stands to collect more than 60% of the vote.

Indian Vice President Election 2017 Process 

The Vice-President of India is the second-highest constitutional office in India, after the President. Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that "there shall be a Vice-President of India." The Vice-President acts as President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations.

The Vice-President of India is also ex officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha. When a bill is introduced in Rajya Sabha, vice-president decides whether it is a financial bill or not. If he is of the opinion, a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a money bill, he would refer the case to the Speaker of the Lok Sabha for deciding it.

Article 66 of the Indian Constitution states the manner of election of the Vice-President. The Vice-President is elected indirectly by members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of Proportional Representation by means of the Single transferable vote and the voting is by secret ballot conducted by election commission.

The current Vice-President is Mohammad Hamid Ansari, since 11 August 2007, and re-elected on 7 August 2012.


Find Your Assembly

Google Translate

CEO & Voter List